New Jersey

5 States Come Off Tri-State Quarantine List, Guam Added as Testing Ramps Up at NY Airports

New York state is in the middle of an 18-day streak with a positivity rate of 1 percent or lower; even the city, the former epicenter of the national crisis, consistently reports daily positivity rates below 1 percent

NBC Universal, Inc.

What to Know

  • The governors of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut implemented a joint quarantine restriction in late June on travelers from viral hotspot states; travelers from certain states must self-isolate for 14 days
  • The number of restricted states and U.S. jurisdictions stands at 31, with Guam being added to the list Tuesday and five states coming off
  • New York has maintained a low infection rate despite its phased regional reopenings; its in the midst of an 18-day streak of daily COVID positivity test rates of 1 percent or lower

Five states -- Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Maryland and Montana -- were removed from the tri-state quarantine list Tuesday, Gov. Andrew Cuomo said. Guam was added, bringing the total number of restricted states and U.S. jurisdictions to 31.

The restricted-states list, a joint effort initially announced in late June by Cuomo, New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont, requiring travelers to the tri-state area from viral hotspots to quarantine for 14 days. Hotspots are defined as areas that have experienced a seven-day rolling COVID test positivity average of 10 percent or higher. By comparison, New York state is in the middle of an 18-day streak with a positivity rate of 1 percent or lower.

As of Tuesday, the current restricted-states list includes the following: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, the Virgin Islands and Wisconsin.

Daily Percentage of Positive Tests by New York Region

Gov. Andrew Cuomo breaks the state into 10 regions for testing purposes and tracks positivity rates to identify potential hotspots. Here's the latest tracking data by region and for the five boroughs. For the latest county-level results statewide, click here


Heavy fines are possible -- at least in New York -- for travelers who do not self-isolate. To help with enforcement, Cuomo requires those landing at New York airports to fill out a contact form. If they don't, they may get a $2,000 fine. New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio amped up the road enforcement earlier this month, imposing checkpoints at key city entry points. Drivers are pulled over at random and asked to fill out one of the contact forms if the quarantine applies.

Last week, the mayor also signed an executive order requiring hotels to deny travelers room access if they refuse to submit a form. He also reminded New Yorkers returning home from viral hotspots that they too need to quarantine. The city has said up to 20 percent of its COVID cases stem from recent travel.

New York will be adding COVID testing sites at JFK and LaGuardia airports as part of the state's ongoing effort to limit travel-related virus spread, Cuomo said.

Contact Us