Candidates for Queens Borough President and Council Seats - NBC New York

Candidates for Queens Borough President and Council Seats



    Candidates for Queens Borough President and Council Seats

    The Borough Presidents are the chief executives of each borough. They have the power, for their boroughs, to consult with the mayor in the preparation of the annual executive budget; to make recommendations on budget priorities, capital projects, and other matters; to review land-use decisions and proposed sites for City facilities; to monitor the delivery of City services and the performance of contracts; and to have legislation introduced in the City Council. Borough Presidents earn an annual salary of $160,000.

    Here are the candidates for Queens Borough President:

    Robert Hornak, Borough President

    Helen Marshall, Borough President

    Robert Schwartz, Borough President

    The City Council is the legislative, or law-making, branch of city government. The City Council is responsible for passing local laws for New York City, making decisions about land use, investigating and overseeing city agencies, and approving the city's budget. Each council member represents one of the 51 New York City Council districts. Council members receive an annual base salary of $112,500.

    Here are the candidates for Queens City Council:

    Daniel Halloran III, City Council #19

    Kevin Kim, City Council #19

    Evergreen Chou, City Council #20

    Yen Chou, City Council #20

    SJ Jung, City Council #20

    Peter Koo, City Council #20

    Julissa Ferreras, City Council #21

    Jerry Kann, City Council #22

    Lynn Serpe, City Council #22

    Peter Vallone Jr., City Council #22

    Richard Burns, City Council #23

    Bob Friedrich, City Council #23

    Mark Weprin, City Council #23

    James Gennaro, City Council #24

    Daniel Dromm, City Council #25

    Mujib Rahman, City Council #25

    Angelo Maragos, City Council #26

    Deirdre Feerick, City Council #26

    Jimmy Van Bramer, City Council #26

    Leroy Comrie, City Council #27

    Thomas White, City Council #28

    Ruben Wills, City Council #28

    Bartholomew Bruno, City Council #29

    Karen Koslowitz, City Council #29

    Lynn Schulman, City Council #29

    Elizabeth Crowley, City Council #30

    Thomas Ognibene, City Council #30

    Scherie Murray, City Council #31

    James Sanders, City Council #31

    Frank Gulluscio, City Council #32

    Eric Ulrich, City Council #32

    The non-partisan video voter guide is a partnership between the voter assistance commission, WNBC, NYC-TV and the campaign finance board. Some candidates for public office declined to participate.  To see a transcript of the video voter guide in English and other languages, please go to  All translations will be be available by Sept. 1, 2009