Gaga Wows and Proenza Schouler Takes Top Prize at CFDA Awards

Getty Images

Designer Marc Jacobs may have received the Lifetime Achievement Award, but he was beat out for the top prize by the designing duo behind It-label Proenza Schouler -- Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez.

The awards were a star-studded affair this year, from presenters like Kanye West and Jessica Alba to the host, Anderson Cooper, who gamely said that his first job was as a child model. The ultimate star of the evening, however, was indisputably Lady Gaga, who arrived wearing a bright green-turquoise wig, towering platforms, and a black custom Mugler dress. Even designer Prabal Gurung could resist running over on the red carpet to snap a photo wtih his camera phone.

The night's big winners, the designers behind Proenza Schouler, are certainly no stranger to the CFDA Awards: The label first took home a Swarovski award in 2003, then won for Accessory Design in 2009 for its iconic PS1 satchel, and famously tied Oscar de la Renta for the Womenswear Award in 2007. The 2011 season for the label has been universally praised by critics, from the updated ladylike staples of the Spring 2011 collection to the riot of mixed prints in the Fall 2011 collection.

"We are so honored to receive this Award and to join the impressive roster of designers to come before us -- a list of individuals we have so much respect for." They also credited the CFDA as having been an "indispensable" resource for "young American designers."

Michael Bastian the top prize for Menswear yet again (making him six for six in terms of years his label has been around), and the unstoppable wunderkind Alexander Wang rounded out the designers taking home the top prizes with his award for Accessory Design.

As always, the Swarovski Awards for up-and-coming talent were among the most contentious, with insider favorite (and second-time nominee) Prabal Gurung snatching the award for Womenswear Design, beating out both Joseph Altuzarra and the Olsen twins. The full list of winners is below.

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Nominees: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, Marc Jacobs
Winner: Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

Menswear Designer of the Year
Nominees: Michael Bastian, Patrik Ervell, Simon Spurr
Winner: Michael Bastian

Accessory Designer of the Year
Nominees: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, Reed Krakoff
Winner: Alexander Wang

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Nominees: Joseph Altuzarra, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen, Prabal Gurung
Winner: Prabal Gurung

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Nominees: Alexander Wang, Phillip Lim, Robert Geller
Winner: Robert Geller

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Nominees: Alejandro Ingelmo, Eddie Borgo, Jason Wu, Pamela Love
Winner: Eddie Borgo

Contact Us