Nassau County Issues Swimming Advisory for 19 Beaches

Because of heavy rainfall the Nassau County Department of Health issued an advisory against bathing at 19 beaches Sunday.

The advisory is issued as a precautionary measure for beaches known to be impacted by stormwater runoff caused by rainfall, the department said.

Stormwater runoff can elevate bacteria levels the water to levels that my exceed the New York State standard for bathing water quality.

Here is a list of the 19 beaches:

Centre Island Sound – Oyster Bay

Creek Club – Lattingtown

Lattingtown Beach – Lattingtown

Laurel Hollow Beach – Laurel Hollow

Morgan Sound – Glen Cove

North Hempstead Beach Park – Port Washington

Piping Rock Beach Club – Locust Valley

Pryibil Beach – Glen Cove

Ransom Beach – Bayville

Theodore Roosevelt Beach – Oyster Bay

Sea Cliff Village Beach – Sea Cliff

Soundside Beach – Bayville

Stehli Beach – Locust Valley

Tappen Beach – Sea Cliff

Biltmore Beach Club – Massapequa

Hewlett Point Beach – East Rockaway

Island Park Beach – Island Park

Merrick Estates Civic Association – Merrick

Philip Healey Beach – Massapequa

Contact Us