CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Finalists Revealed

The finalists are a mix of beloved indies and under-the-radar upstarts

The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund -- sponsored by the Council of Fashion Designers of America and Vogue magazine -- has announced this year's 10 finalists, which include a mix of beloved indies and seriously under-the-radar talent. Of the more popular indies highlighted, most editors will undoubtedly be thrilled to see names like Patrik Ervell (winner of the 2007 Ecco Domani award for mensear, alongside Erin Fetherston), insider favorite line Ohne Titel (made up of Flora Gill and Alexa Adams), Wayne Lee of the crisp-yet-feminine label Wayne, Monique Pean (who also won an Ecco Domani award for jewelry), local talent Gary Graham, and man-about-town Waris Ahluwalia of House of Waris.

On the lesser-known end, the fund picked out Alabama Chanin -- a lifestyle company focused on "slow design and sustainability," French born bohemian designer Sophie Theallat, George Esquivel of Esquivel Shoes (a master shoe designer and cobbler), and finally Savile Row-inspired menswear designer Simon Spurr for his label Spurr.

While the final winner won't be announced until November 16, the Fashion Fund has long been a litmus test for upstart talent within the industry (be they nominees or actual winners). In the past, winners have included serious talents like Alexander Wang, Trovata, and Proenza Schouler's Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez. The fund supplies said upstarts with a large cash prize and the chance to learn from established mentors within fashion.

Contact Us