David Byrne, Big Daddy Kane, Soulive Rock the Big BK - NBC New York

David Byrne, Big Daddy Kane, Soulive Rock the Big BK

    processing...

    NEWSLETTERS

    David Byrne, Big Daddy Kane, Soulive Rock the Big BK
    Celebrate Brooklyn!
    Celebrate Brooklyn!

    Celebrate Brooklyn! announced their full summer line-up today for the Prospect Park summer concert series. All shows are free and open to the public, but come with a $3 suggested donation.  It's time to start saving up those quarters.

    The arts festival previously announced their six-show run of benefit concerts, which include MGMT on July 1st (sold out), Jackson Brown on July 21st, Bonnie Raitt & Taj Mahal on August 12 and a two-night run of Animal Collective on August 14th and 15th.

    The newly-announced full season line-up features a diverse blend music, ranging from the Talking Heads' own David Byrne (June 8th) to the juicy funk of Soulive for their 10th anniversary celebration on July 31st. Mix in some Burning Spear, Big Daddy Kane and the mysterious "Music & Movies Purple Rain Sing-A-Long with Escort" show, and we've got ourselves a handful of fantastic summer weekends.

    Here's the full summer line-up for Celebrate Brooklyn, via Brooklyn Vegan:

    • Monday, June 8, 8:00 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) David Byrne
    • Thursday, June 11, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) Goran Bregovic & His Weddings & Funerals Orchestra
    • Friday, June 19, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) David Rudder/Samantha Thornhill
    • Saturday, June 20, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M. La Nave de los Monstruos, with live score by Ethel and Gutbucket Part of Celebrate Brooklyn!¹s Music & Movies Series
    • Thursday, June 25, 7:00 P.M. (gates open at 6:00 P.M.) Femi Kuti & The Positive Force/Melvin Gibbs¹ Elevated Entity
    • Friday, June 26, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) Blonde Redhead
    • Saturday, June 27, 7:00 P.M. (gates open at 600 P.M.) Dr. Dog/Phosphorescent/These United States
    • Thursday, July 2, 7:00 P.M. (gates open at 6:00 P.M.) Obie Juan Bermudéz/Cucu Diamantes/Rebel Diaz Bud Light Latin Music Series
    • Thursday, July 9, 8:00 P.M. (gates open at 7:00 P.M.) Dance STREB: Invisible Forces
    • Friday, July 10, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) Celebrate Brooklyn and LAMC present Los Amigos Invisibles/Aterciopelados Bud Light Latin Music Series
    • Saturday, July 11, 4:00 P.M. (gates open at 3:00 P.M.) Ezra Jack Keats Family Concert A Very Special Show with They Might Be Giants
    • Thursday, July 16, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) Kronos Quartet/Luminescent Orchestrii
    • Friday, July 17, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) The Robert Cray Band/The Sweet Divines American Express Roots Music Series
    • Saturday, July 18, 2:00 P.M.‹9:00 P.M. (gates open at 1:00 P.M.) African Festival with King Sunny Adé/Freshly Ground/The Mandingo Ambassadors/Cheikh M¹Baye & Sing Sing/Abena Koomson/Yasser Darwish American Express Roots Music Series
    • Thursday, July 23, 8:00 P.M. (gates open at 7:00 P.M.) Dance Stephen Petronio Company
    • Friday, July 24, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) Buckwheat Zydeco/The Holmes Brothers American Express Roots Music Series
    • Saturday, July 25, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) Kailash Kher/Electro Morocco
    • Thursday, July 30, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) Burning Spear/Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens
    • Friday, July 31, 7:00 P.M. (gates open at 6:00 P.M.) The Royal Family: Soulive¹s 10th Anniversary Celebration, with Special Guests John Scofield and Christian Scott/Ivan Neville & Dumpstaphunk
    • Saturday, August 1, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) Music & Movies Dean & Britta: 13 Most BeautifulŠSongs for Andy Warhol¹s Screen Tests/ Crystal Stilts
    • Thursday, August 6, 7:30 P.M. (gates open at 6:30 P.M.) Music & Movies Purple Rain Sing-A-Long with Escort
    • Friday, August 7, 7:00 P.M. (gates open at 6:00 P.M.) Grace Potter & The Nocturnals/ Deer Tick / The London Souls
    • Saturday, August 8, 7:00 P.M. (gates open at 6:00 P.M.) Celebrate Brooklyn & Lyricist Lounge Present Big Daddy Kane (with Special Guests TBA), Plus a Screening of BDK: The Big Daddy Kane Story

    For more information visit Celebrate Brooklyn! online or follow them on Twitter.  Check out this short video if you've never been to the summer shows: