General Mills Recalls 1.8 Million Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheerios Boxes

Earns General Mills
File--AP

General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at a plant in Lodi, California, saying the cereal is labeled gluten-free but actually contains wheat.

The recall affects Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made in July. The Minneapolis company says wheat flour was inadvertently used in a system that normally processes gluten-free oat flour.

The use of wheat flour means the cereals are not gluten-free, and people with conditions like wheat allergies or celiac disease who consume it might suffer an allergic reaction or discomfort.

General Mills Inc. said Monday it will take the cereals out of warehouses and off store shelves, and says customers who cannot eat wheat should contact the company for a replacement box or a full refund.

You can tell if your box is among those recalled by checking the "Better If Used By" date on the top of the box, General Mills said. If the date and factory code is among those listed below, you should call 800-775-8370.

Affected boxes:

Honey Nut Cheerios:

12JUL2016 LD

13JUL2016 LD

14JUL2016 LD

15JUL2016LD

16JUL2016LD

17JUL2016LD

18JUL2016LD

19JUL2016LD

20JUL2016LD

21JUL2016LD

22JUL2016LD

23JUL2016LD

24JUL2016LD

25JUL2016LD

Cheerios:

14JUL2016LD

15JUL2016LD

16JUL2016LD

17JUL2016LD

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us