New Jersey Primary: Incumbents Versus Challengers - NBC New York

New Jersey Primary: Incumbents Versus Challengers



    Meet Four Inspiring Kids Tackling Cancer
    Getty Images
    Voters fill out ballots at a polling place.

    New Jersey voters had a lot more choices than they were used to in this year’s congressional primary election on Tuesday.

    A record total of 47 candidates ran this year, including seven of 13 incumbents being challenged.

    But all seven incumbents secured their party’s nomination for re-election in November. The other 6 faced no primary competition.

    In fact, with low voter turnout, winners were declared shortly after polls closed at 8 p.m.

    In the 3rd district, former Philadelphia Eagle Jon Runyan has won the Republican nomination over tea party favorite Justin Murphy.

     Runyan will compete against Democrat primary winner John Adler in November.

    Republican winners include Chris Smith (4th district), Frank LoBiondo (2nd district), Roland Straten (8th district), Dale Glading (1st district), Leonard Lance (7th district) and Rodney Freylinghuysen (11th district).

    Democrats include Tod Theise (5th district), Robert Andrews (1st district), Douglas Herbert (11th district) and Albio Sires (13th district).

    New Jersey’s congressional delegation currently has eight Democrats and five Republicans.