Grizzly Bear’s Chris Taylor Announces Solo Debut


File this under “awesome intra-borough synergy” -- Grizzly Bear producer/bassist Chris Taylor’s solo debut Dreams Come True, under the moniker CANT, is scheduled for release on Sept.13 with an assist from fellow Brooklynite George Lewis Jr. of Twin Shadow. The album will be released in North America by Taylor’s own 4AD imprint, Terrible Records, and by Warp Records everywhere else.

The two had previously collaborated on Twin Shadow’s 2010 album Forget, a dreamy, New Wave pop gem which Taylor produced and Terrible Records released.

It’s the first we’ve heard of CANT since Taylor released the single “Ghost” in in October of 2009 (which you can stream or download over at Stereogum), a layered, gently building composition that certainly would not have been out of place on Grizzly Bear’s magnificent Veckatimest. What “Ghost” lacks in propulsion, it more than makes up for in its pleasantly layered texture and use of space.

Check out the track list for Dreams Come True, on which “Ghost” does not appear, below.

1.       1. Too Late, Too Far

2.       2. Believe

3.       3. The Edge

4.       4. BANG

5.       5. (brokencollar)

6.       6. She’s Found a Way Out

7.       7. Answer

8.       8. Dreams Come True

9.       9. Rises Silent

10.   10. Bericht

Contact Us