cuomo allegations

These Democrats Are Calling for Andrew Cuomo to Resign

Cuomo faces calls to resign over a trio of scandals

Mike Segar | Reuters

New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo is under fire, facing allegations on four fronts -- sexual harassment of young women in his orbit, verbal harassment and threats against other politicians, safety issues with a bridge named for his father, and mishandling of the COVID epidemic in nursing homes.

He now faces a federal probe into the nursing home issue, a state investigation and a police inquiry into the harassment claims, and an impeachment investigation in the legislature. Against that backdrop, his fellow Democrats at all levels of government are calling on the three-term governor and political scion to resign. (A number of Republicans have called for the same.)

Here is the latest list of Democrats calling on Cuomo to step down -- either immediately, at least temporarily during the attorney general's investigation, or if any of the allegations against him are proven by that probe. (List current as of 10 a.m. ET, March 18.)


  • Sen. Chuck Schumer
  • Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand
  • Rep. Kathleen Rice
  • Rep. Jerry Nadler
  • Rep. Jamaal Bowman
  • Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez
  • Rep. Grace Meng
  • Rep. Adriano Espaillat
  • Rep. Yvette Clarke
  • Rep. Mondaire Jones
  • Rep. Carolyn Maloney
  • Rep. Nydia Velazquez
  • Rep. Antonio Delgado
  • Rep. Brian Higgins
  • Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney
  • Rep. Paul Tonko
  • Rep. Thomas Suozzi
  • Rep. Joe Morelle
  • Rep. Gregory Meeks
  • Rep. Ritchie Torres

State Senate

  • Sen. Alessandra Biaggi
  • Sen. John Liu
  • Sen. Gustavo Rivera
  • Sen. Jessica Ramos
  • Sen. Julia Salazar
  • Sen. James Skoufis
  • Sen. Rachel May
  • Sen. Andrea Stewart-Cousins
  • Sen. Samra Brouk
  • Sen. Liz Krueger
  • Sen. Michael Gianaris
  • Sen. Brad Hoylman
  • Sen. Robert Jackson
  • Sen. Elijah Reichlin-Melnick
  • Sen. Jabari Brisport
  • Sen. James Sanders Jr.
  • Sen. Andrew Gounardes
  • Sen. Michelle Hinchey
  • Sen. John Mannion
  • Sen. Shelley Mayer
  • Sen. Brian Kavanagh
  • Sen. Toby Ann Stavisky
  • Sen. John Brooks
  • Sen. James Gaughran
  • Sen. Todd Kaminsky
  • Sen. Anna Kaplan
  • Sen. Kevin Thomas
  • Sen. Pete Harckham
  • Sen. Tim Kennedy
  • Sen. Zellnor Myrie
  • Sen. Sean Ryan
  • Sen. Jeremy Cooney
  • Sen. Brian Benjamin
  • Sen. Jamaal Bailey
  • Sen. Jose Serrano

State Assembly

  • Asm. Jessica Gonzalez-Rojas
  • Asm. Ron Kim
  • Asm. Yuh-Line Niou
  • Asm. Harvey Epstein
  • Asm. Nathalia Fernandez
  • Asm. Angelo Santabarbara
  • Asm. Tom Abinanti
  • Asm. Aileen Gunther
  • Asm. Billy Jones
  • Asm. Carrie Woerner
  • Asm. Pat Burke
  • Asm. Sarah Clark
  • Asm. Jonathan Jacobson
  • Asm. Catalina Cruz
  • Asm. Dan Quart
  • Asm. Richard Gottfried
  • Asm. Robert Carroll
  • Asm. Khaleel Anderson
  • Asm. Amanda Septimo
  • Asm. Brian Barnwell
  • Asm. Harry Bronson
  • Asm. Kenny Burgos
  • Asm. Marianne Buttenschon
  • Asm. Carmen De La Rosa
  • Asm. Simcha Eichenstein
  • Asm. Mathylde Frontus
  • Asm. Emily Gallagher
  • Asm. Andrew Hevesi
  • Asm. Anna Kelles
  • Asm. Jennifer Lunsford
  • Asm. Zohran Mamdani
  • Asm. Marcela Mitaynes
  • Asm. Amy Paulin
  • Asm. Victor Pichardo
  • Asm. Karines Reyes
  • Asm. Linda Rosenthal
  • Asm. Daniel Rosenthal
  • Asm. Nily Rozic
  • Asm. Jo Anne Simon
  • Asm. Phara Souffrant Forest
  • Asm. Diana Richardson
  • Asm. Monica Wallace
  • Asm. Karen McMahon
  • Asm. Jon Rivera
  • Asm. Bill Conrad
  • Asm. Clyde Vanel
  • Asm. Demond Meeks

Statewide Office

  • Comptroller Tom DiNapoli


  • NYC Mayor Bill de Blasio

NYC Mayoral Candidates

  • NYC Comptroller Scott Stringer
  • Maya Wiley
  • Kathryn Garcia
  • Shaun Donovan
  • Eric Adams

NY City Council

  • CM Ben Kallos (also running for Manhattan borough president)
  • CM Brad Lander (also running for NYC comptroller)
  • CM Carlos Menchaca (also running for NYC mayor)
  • CM Antonio Reynoso (also running for Brooklyn borough president)
  • CM Diana Ayala
  • CM James Gennaro
  • CM Fernando Cabrera
  • CM Jimmy Van Bramer (also running for Queens borough president)
  • CM Justin Brannan
  • Speaker Corey Johnson (also running for comptroller)

Democratic Party Officials

  • Cayuga County Chair Ian Phillips
  • Ulster County Executive Pat Ryan
Contact Us