Gay Marriage a Rare Defeat on NY Senate Floor - NBC New York

Gay Marriage a Rare Defeat on NY Senate Floor

Bill was one of few where outcome was unknown before vote went to floor



    Gay Marriage a Rare Defeat on NY Senate Floor
    Getty Images
    The bill that would have allowed gay marriage was defeated 24-38, a wider-than-expected margin that surprised sponsors, advocates and legislative veterans.

    The New York Senate vote knocking down gay marriage was a rare moment in Albany when the outcome of a vote wasn't known before the measure went to the floor.

    In New York's Legislature, powerful majority parties tightly control all legislation, usually only allowing a bill to make it to a full vote after closed-door sessions guarantee the outcome. In some cases, the inevitable result is even announced days before public debate. A bill that won't pass languishes out of sight.

    But on Wednesday, the bill that would have allowed gay marriage was defeated 24-38, a wider-than-expected margin that surprised sponsors, advocates and legislative veterans.

    Although already approved by the Democrat-led Assembly and Democratic Gov. David Paterson, the issue is blocked by the Senate's vote.

    "I have been in Albany 25 years and it's only the second time I have seen a bill that was introduced on the floor that was defeated," Paterson said Thursday. The former senator said part of the secrecy leading to the vote was because at least some senators waited to see if the measure would pass before joining the effort.

    Despite advocates promising Republican votes to compensate for what they thought would be only a couple of "no" votes among Democrats, all 30 Republicans opposed the bill along with eight Democrats.

    "There was a mass panic," Paterson said. "You would have thought the vote would have been closer."

    Senators, with the counties or parts of counties they represent, who voted against gay marriage, were:

    —Democrat Joseph Addabbo Jr.; Queens.

    —Republican James Alesi; Monroe County.

    —Democrat Darrel Aubertine; Jefferson, Oswego, St. Lawrence counties.

    —Republican John Bonacic; Delaware, Orange, Sullivan, Ulster counties.

    —Republican John DeFrancisco; Onondaga County.

    —Democrat Ruben Diaz Jr.; the Bronx.

    —Republican Hugh Farley; Schenectady, Fulton, Montgomery, Saratoga counties.

    —Republican John Flanagan; Suffolk County.

    —Republican Charles Fuschillo; Nassau and Suffolk counties.

    —Republican Martin Golden; Brooklyn.

    —Republican Joseph Griffo; Oneida, Lewis, St. Lawrence counties.

    —Republican Kemp Hannon; Nassau County.

    —Democrat Shirley Huntley; Queens.

    —Republican Owen Johnson; Suffolk County.

    —Democrat Carl Kruger; Brooklyn.

    —Republican Andrew Lanza; Staten Island.

    —Republican William Larkin; Orange, Ulster counties.

    —Republican Kenneth LaValle; Suffolk County.

    —Republican Vincent Leibell; Dutchess, Westchester, Putnam counties.

    —Republican Thomas Libous; Broome, Chenango, Tioga counties.

    —Republican Elizabeth O'C. Little; Hamilton, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Warren, Washington counties.

    —Republican Carl Marcellino; Nassau, Suffolk counties.

    —Republican George Maziarz; Niagara, Monroe, Orleans counties.

    —Republican Roy McDonald; Saratoga, Rensselaer counties.

    —Democrat Hiram Monserrate; Queens.

    —Republican Thomas Morahan; Orange, Rockland counties.

    —Republican Michael Nozzolio; Cayuga, Monroe, Ontario counties.

    —Democrat George Onorato; Queens.

    —Republican Frank Padavan; Queens.

    —Republican Michael Ranzenhofer; Erie, Genesee counties.

    —Republican Joseph Robach; Monroe County.

    —Republican Stephen Saland; Dutchess, Columbia counties.

    —Republican James Seward; Chenango, Cortland, Greene, Herkimer, Otsego, Schoharie, Tompkins counties.

    —Republican Dean Skelos; Nassau County.

    —Democrat William Stachowski; Erie County.

    —Republican Dale Volker; Erie, Livingston, Ontario, Wyoming counties.

    —Republican George Winner; Chemung, Schuyler, Steuben, Tompkins, Yates counties.

    —Republican Catharine Young; Alleghany, Cattaraugus, Chatauqua, Livingston counties.

    Senators voting in favor of gay marriage were:

    —Democrat Eric Adams; Brooklyn.

    —Democrat Neil Breslin; Albany County.

    —Democrat Malave Dilan; Brooklyn.

    —Democrat Thomas Duane; Manhattan.

    —Democrat Pedro Espada, the Bronx.

    —Democrat Brian Foley; Suffolk County.

    —Democrat Ruth Hassell-Thompson; Bronx, Westchester.

    —Democrat Craig Johnson; Nassau County.

    —Democrat Jeffrey Klein; the Bronx.

    —Democrat Liz Krueger; Manhattan.

    —Democrat Velmanette Montgomery; Brooklyn.

    —Democrat Suzi Oppenheimer; Westchester County.

    —Democrat Kevin Parker; Brooklyn.

    —Democrat Bill Perkins; Manhattan.

    —Democrat John Sampson, Brooklyn.

    —Democrat Diane Savino; Staten Island, Brooklyn.

    —Democrat Eric Schneiderman; Manhattan.

    —Democrat Jose Serrano; the Bronx.

    —Democrat Malcolm Smith; Queens.

    —Democrat Daniel Squadron; Brooklyn, Manhattan.

    —Democrat Toby Ann Stavisky; Queens.

    —Democrat Andrea Stewart-Cousins; Westchester County.

    —Democrat Antoine Thompson; Erie, Niagara counties.

    —Democrat David Valesky; Madison, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga counties.