Gov. Andrew Cuomo has advised workers to call a new hotline set up by the state labor department if employers do not comply with New York's new minimum-wage rates.
The new rates go into effect Dec. 31 and the state has launched 1-888-4-NYSDOL to assist with any issues. Minimum wage currently sits at $9 an hour statewide.
In New York City, the minimum wage will climb to either $11 an hour or $10.50 an hour for employers with less than 10 workers.
The wage will rise to $10 an hour for workers in Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties. For the rest of the state, the wage will now be set at $9.70.
Cuomo and the state Legislature agreed in March to raise minimum wage to $15 an hour by 2021.