Super Bowl Voting 101 - NBC New York

Super Bowl Voting 101



    Super Bowl Voting 101
    Getty Images
    EAST RUTHERFORD, NJ - MAY 07: A general view of the New Meadowlands Stadium prior to the match between Ecuador and Mexico in the 2010 FMF U.S. Tour on May 7, 2010 at in East Rutherford, New Jersey. (Photo by Mike Stobe/Getty Images)

    Conspiracy theories abound about how New York is a lock to be awarded the first cold weather Super Bowl. But just how does the process even work? 

    Three bid committees will make their pitches to 32 NFL owners who are assembled in Irving, Texas.
    First up, Giants treasurer Jon Tisch and Meadowlands Stadium CEO Mark Lamping will make a 15-minute PowerPoint and video presentation. The Big Apple will be followed by the cities of Tampa and Miami/Fort Lauderdale.
    After the 15-minute presentations, Frank Supovitz, the NFL’s senior vice president of events, will give the owners a comparative analysis of the three bids.
    The three nominees will then have one final 5-minute plea to the owners. For this part of the process, South Florida will go first, followed by Tampa then Jets owner Woody Johnson and Giants co-owner John Mara.
    The order of the first 15-minute presentations was determined by a random draw. The final 5-minute plea is done in reverse order.
    The 32 NFL owners then cast their secret-ballot votes. Finally, Commissioner Roger Goodell will then make the official announcement at about 4pm.
    Good luck to the Meadowlands Stadium!