And the 2010 CFDA Award Nominees Are …

Getty Images

The CFDA Awards are like the fashion community's Oscars. This year, the nominees include some we'd expected (Marc Jacobs, Alexander Wang), but there are some surprises, too.

Of course, no one was much surprised that Alexander Wang and Marc Jacobs were highlighted for Womenswear Designer of the Year, and Donna Karan's incluson is especially apropos considering this marks the designer's 25th anniversary in the business. The board of the CFDA also decided to vote the current president -- Diane von Furstenberg -- in for a third two-year term, even though technically that's against the bylaws. (Hey, if Bloomberg can do it!) 

Of course, unlike the Oscars, the CFDA Awards has a special series of distinctions specially designed to highlight up-and-comers, the Swarovski Award for both womenswear and menswear, which typically is one of the most buzzed-about areas of the event (naturally). For 2010, we're ecstatic to see that all three of the womenswear nominees -- Prabal Gurung, Jason Wu, and Joseph Altuzarra -- were talents we were watching throughout their Fall 2010 collections. Similarly, Richard Chai and Simon Spurr made our watch-list for menswear, so we're extremely excited to see their names on the nominee list as well.

We'll have to wait until June 7 for the actual awards to be presented -- and it should be quite a night, between an Alexander McQueen tribute, and special awards for Michael Kors and Christopher Bailey of Burberry (both very deserving).

Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Donna Karan
Marc Jacobs
Alexander Wang

Menswear Designer of the Year:
Michael Bastian
Tom Ford
David Neville & Marcus Wainwright for Rag & Bone

Accessory Designer of the Year:
Alexis Bittar
Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler
Marc Jacobs

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:
Joseph Altuzarra
Jason Wu
Prabal Gurung

Swarovski Award for Menswear:
Richard Chai
Simon Spurr
Patrik Ervell

Swarovski Award for Accessories:
Alexander Wang
Dana Lorenz
Eddie Borgo

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:
Michael Kors

The International Award:
Christopher Bailey for Burberry

Fashion Icon Award:

The Eugenia Sheppard Award:
Kim Hastreiter (Paper Magazine)

Eleanor Lambert Award:
Tonne Goodman (Vogue)

Board of Directors Special Tribute:
Alexander McQueen

Contact Us