The Big Sleep Ready New Album

After a few years of rest, The Big Sleep have finally woken up. On January 31, the  Brooklyn group will release Nature Experiments,  their first album since 2008's Sleep Forever

A psychedelic rock band that places equal emphasis on both parts of the term, The Big Sleep are known for the ability to go shift from a shimmering haze to an onslaught of riffs, but have largely been inactive since the support tour for Forever and shows with The Hold Steady. 

"The time away let us learn to work and write in a different way. I don't know if it will be obvious to anyone else, but it feels generally more positive to me," guitarist/vocalist Danny Barria tells Nonstop Sound.

The Big Sleep has previously proven adept at both winding instrumental passages and choruses. For Nature, Barria says the band focused on merging its disparate sides.
"We wanted to tighten the songs up, have them be these bright bursts. I think we were less indulgent this time around and more about impact from a songwriting perspective, versus a volume perspective. We've been there."

If you're curious about checking out their new bright bursts, The Big Sleep are playing several shows this week as past of the CMJ Music Marathon. We've got those dates and a tracklisting of for you below.

The Big Sleep Tour Dates

10/19  Santos Party House Downstairs  (Early show)

10/19  Party Xpo (Late show)

10/20 Pianos Showroom - 2am - New York, NY

10/21 Cameo Gallery 

Nature Experiments Tracklisting

1. #1

2. Ace

3. Valentine

4. Ghosts In Bodies

5. Wood On The Water

6. Red Carpet

7. Ladders

8. Four Wishes

9. Meet Your Maker

10. 1001

Contact Us