New Music From Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks

Last year was a busy year for Stephen Malkmus. His beloved indie rock outfit, Pavement, reunited and toured the international festival circuit, and even made time for a stop at the Williamsburg Waterfront before settling in for a four-night stand at Rumsey Playfield in Central Park.

One would think a whirlwind year like that would tire the elder statesman, but it has only seemed to invigorate the cult hero who has finally put the finishing touches on his new record.

On August 23, Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks will unleash their fifth album, Mirror Traffic, via their longtime label Matador Records. The album was recorded over a two-and-a-half-year period in Los Angeles with Beck.

On Wednesday, Matador Records posted the track “Senator” from Mirror Traffic. The lyrics may be considered NSFW. Take a listen: “Senator" (Quicktime).

Below is the complete track list for Mirror Traffic:

1. Tigers
2. No One (Is As I Are Be)
3. Senator
4. Brain Gallop
5. Jumblegloss
6. Asking Price
7. Stick Figures in Love
8. Spazz
9. Long Hard Book
10. Share the Red
11 .Tune Grief
12. Forever 28
13. All Over Gently
14. Fall Away
15. Gorgeous George

Contact Us