Listen to a New Exitmusic Song

While reviewing the School of Seven Bells show at Mercury Lounge, we told you about the Brooklyn duo Exitmusic.

We dug the way that, unlike a lot of contemporary atmospheric-pop types, singer Aleksa Palladino was unafraid to cut through the swaths of audio murk to make herself heard. Not that the audio murk her and partner Devon Church were cooking up -- a nice hybrid of 4AD reverb and early Radiohead -- wasn't appealing on its own merits.

Now you can hear for yourself what we were talking about. Head over here to download "Passage," the opening track from their full-length debut of the same name, which will be out May 22 via Secretly Canadian.

Church and Palladino have been working together for a while, and released their debut EP From Silence last year.

After a brief time in Los Angeles so Palladino could pursue her acting career (she currently appears in "Boardwalk Empire") the pair settled back in New York, and recorded Passage at Rare Book Room in Brooklyn with Deerhunter/Dirty Projectors producer Nicholas Vernhes. Apparently, the School of Seven Bells have taken a shine to these kids, as Exitmusic again opens for them Thursday at the Mercury Lounge and also on May 5 at Le Poisson Rouge. 

Passage Tracklisting

1. Passage

2. The Night

3. The City

4. White Noise

5. Storms

6. The Wanting

7. Stars

8. The Modern Age

9. The Cold

10. Sparks of Light

Contact Us