Das Racist Announce Debut Album

The first time anyone heard of Das Racist was “Combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell,” an ingenious novelty rap that burned its way into your frontal lobe whether you liked it, hated it, or both.

But internet memes are a dime a dozen; much more noteworthy were the rap duo’s stellar 2010 mixtapes, Shut Up, Dude and Sit Down, Man. On both, Kool A.D. (Victor Vazquez) and Heems (Himanshu Suri) displayed an astonishing cultural literacy in service of some serious snark, slyly toeing the line between parody and homage of traditional rap tropes with an ironic wit that betrayed a true love of the genre.

And now, they’ve got an album proper: Relax, to be released on Suri’s own Greedhead Music label on Sept. 13.

And for a debut with no major-label backing, they’ve got some impressive features: production credits include Diplo, Vampire Weekend’s Rostam Batmanglij and Yeasayer’s Anand Wilder. The tracklist is below.

Das Racist—Relax

1.       1. Relax

2.       2. Michael Jackson

3.       3. Brand New Dance

4.       4. Middle of the Cake

5.       5. Girl

6.       6. Shut up, Man (ft. El-P)

7.       7. Happy Rappy

8.       8. Booty in the Air

9.       9. Power (ft. Danny Brown & Despot)

10.   10. Punjabi Song (ft. Bikram Singh)

11.   11. Selena

12.   12. Rainbow in the Dark

13.   13. The Trick

14.   14. Celebration

Contact Us