15,000 in NJ File FEMA Claims for Irene Damage | NBC New York

15,000 in NJ File FEMA Claims for Irene Damage

All 21 counties in New Jersey have been declared a federal disaster area



    President Barack Obama high fives a boy as he stops at a "road to recovery center" at a Lowe's department store after visiting flood damage caused by Hurricane Irene in Paterson, N.J.

    More than 15,000 New Jersey residents have already filed claims with the Federal Emergency Management Agency seeking help paying for damage from Hurricane Irene.

    All 21 counties have been declared major disaster areas.     

    FEMA regional spokesman Bill McDonnell said Tuesday claims have been filed in every county, with the highest number so far coming from Bergen, Passaic and Morris counties.

    Bergen is topping the list with more than 2,600 claims.     

    Fewer claims have been filed along the shore -- only 14 in Cape May County, 84 in Atlantic and 15 in Ocean.     

    FEMA offices are being set up in every county. Residents have 60 days from the time a disaster was declared to file for federal aid.

    The first declaration was Aug. 31.