Nonstop Sound
The music of New York

Now Through Friday: Godspeed You! Black Emperor Are at Your Fingertips

Email
|
Print

    NEWSLETTERS

    Post rock-via-classical melodies, mathy atmospherics, wildly incorrect punctuation: Godspeed You! Black Emperor were at the forefront of it all. The experimental Montreal ensemble have subverted plenty of musical paradigms since their 1994 inception, and released six albums and inspired such acts is Mogwai and Explosions in the Sky along the way.

    This week, the noiseniks bring their their sweeps of white haze and jarringly beautiful film loops to New York for the first time in eight years. They’re making up for their almost decade-long indifference toward New York (just like Canadians, eh?) with an astonishing five shows in as many days at some of the best venues in town, including the perilously loud Brooklyn Masonic Temple.

    Tickets are, predictably, hard to come by, but do what you must: this sort of roiling, droning sonic bombast isn’t for polite company, anyway. We won’t judge you.


    Godspeed You! Black Emperor 2011 Tour Dates:

    Mon 03/14/11 Terminal 5 New York NY
    Tue 03/15/11 Brooklyn Masonic Temple Brooklyn NY 
    Wed 03/16/11 Brooklyn Masonic Temple Brooklyn NY
    Thu 03/17/11 Church of St. Paul The Apostle New York NY
    Fri 03/18/11 Church of St. Paul The Apostle New York NY
    Sat 03/19/11 The Trocadero Philadelphia PA
    Sun 03/20/11 9:30 Club Washington DC
    Tue 03/22/11 40 Watt Club Athens GA
    Thu 03/24/11 Cannery Ballroom Nashville TN 
    Sat 03/26/11 Metro Chicago IL
    Sun 03/27/11 Metro Chicago IL
    Mon 03/28/11 Vic Theatre Chicago IL
    Tue 03/29/11 Majestic Theatre Detroit MI w/ Sick Llama
    Fri 04/22/11 Lee's Palace Toronto ON
    Sat 04/23/11 Lee's Palace Toronto ON
    Sun 04/24/11 Lee's Palace Toronto ON
    Sun 04/24/11 Lee's Palace Toronto ON