Beastie Boys Nominated for Rock and Roll Hall of Fame | NBC New York
Nonstop Sound
The music of New York

Beastie Boys Nominated for Rock and Roll Hall of Fame



    Getty Images
    The Beastie Boys onstage.

    No! Sleep! ‘Til Cleveland!

    Beastie Boys, Tom Waits, and Neil Diamond are among this year’s nominees for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, organizers announced this week. According to Hall of Fame rules, artists are eligible for induction 25 years after the release of their first album; yes, it’s really been 25 years since License to Ill, and yes, we should all go nominate ourselves for AARP.

    The full list of nominees for 2011:

    ·    Alice Cooper
    ·    Beastie Boys
    ·    Bon Jovi
    ·    Chic
    ·    Neil Diamond
    ·    Donovan
    ·    Dr. John
    ·    J. Geils Band
    ·    LL Cool J
    ·    Darlene Love
    ·    Laura Nyro
    ·    Donna Summer
    ·    Joe Tex
    ·    Tom Waits
    ·    Chuck Willis

    LL Cool J? Sure, why not – he’s already a lifetime honoree at the Gun Show. A team of 500 voters will select the winning artists, who will be announced in December. The 26th Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on March 14, 2011, at New York’s Waldorf Astoria and broadcast live on the Fuse network. The Hall of Fame currently includes 92 artists.

    The ceremony is famous for its once-in-a-lifetime artist collaborations; last year, Green Day jammed with inductees Iggy Pop and the Stooges, and Wyclef Jean joined victor Jimmy Cliff. Who should stomp the boards with the Beasties? We suggest 2006 inductee Herb Alpert, because that take on “Brass Monkey” would be unreal.